Hanami Festival: Cherry Blossom Festival Japan 2020

Cherry Blossom Festival
Hanami Festival

cherry blossom festival

Hanami is the oldest tree and it is also called sakura or ume tree. The custom is begun at some stage within the NARA length (710–794), whereas it absolutely was Ume blossoms that folks admire within the starting, but with the help of the Heian amount (794–1185) cherry blossom festival arrived to draw a lot of attention, and hanami became similar with sakura. Imported from china, have become an item of admiration in japan

Cherry blossom has become sacred for 2 motives:

  • Spring is the start of the rice planting season, soIt’s miles a second of imparting to the gods supposed to sell the coming harvest. 
  • The flowering of the cherry blossoms symbolizes the fragility and transience of life.

Hanami, a custom and a social ritual

Cherry blossom season in Japan is taken very seriously by way of the locals. It is impossible to escape the custom “Hana Yori Dango”, “pastries in place of flora”, to underline the gastronomic significance of the occasion. this is why the Japanese have taken the dependency of under the cherry blossoms.

For family and friends, hanami is a social ritual with regulations and hierarchy. typically, the youngest institution (kohai) arrives early inside the morning to lay out a plastic sheet for absolutely everyone to take a seat on, and maintain the seats and look ahead to their elders (senpai).

The exceptional hanami spot of japan

There are numerous well-known places, often parks, to enjoy hanami in Tokyo

  • Yoyogi Koen
  • Ueno Koen
  • Sotobori Koen
  • Shinjuku gyoen
  • Meguro District

Types of cherry blossoms

Japan has an extensive kind of cherry blossoms (sakura); nicely over 200 cultivars may be discovered there.

  • Prunus apetala var. pilosa
  • Prunus Campanulate
  • Prunus Furuseana
  • Prunus Incam
  • Prunus incisa var. incisa
  • Prunus incisa var. Kinkiensis
  • Prunus Introrsa
  • Prunus Kanzakura
  • Prunus Miyoshii
  • Prunus Padus
  • Prunus Parvifolia
  • Prunus Pendula
  • Prunus Pseudocerasus
  • Prunus Sacra
  • Prunus Sargentii
  • Prunus Serrulata
  • Prunus Sieboldii
  • Prunus Subhirtella
  • Prunus Syodoi
  • Prunus Tajimensis
  • Prunus Takenakae
  • Prunus Verecunda
  • Prunus Yedoensis

You may also know: official 7 Wonders of the World


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here